Disability Income Fellow (DIF) Designation

SAVE 30% on these and 40+ select* online self-study courses now through 4.30.20. Use coupon code SPRING2020.

* Excluding Marketing Medicare Advantage + Fraud, Waste and Abuse; Federal Marketplace Training; the Health Savings Account (HSA) Expert Certificate course; Medicare Primer; taxes; and shipping charges. Students have 90-180 days to complete courses. Coupon code expires 11:59 PM ET, 4.30.20.


The Disability Income Fellow (DIF) designation is AHIP’s most advanced disability insurance (DI) credential. Earning your DIF demonstrates a strong commitment to your career and your organization. Upon completion, you’ll have an impressive understanding of how DI programs are structured, managed, and financed. This includes DI planning under the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and the American Taxpayer’s Relief Act of 2012. You’ll learn how DI fits into retirement, estate, and long-term care planning, and about special risk situations in common personal and business programs.

At a Glance

  • 3 required online courses, plus 1 exam each
  • 2 elective online courses required, plus 1 exam each
  • Students have 90-180 days to complete each course
  • Courses available in a device-friendly, self-paced format
  • Technical support available by phone or email

Learn, Achieve, and Succeed with These Online Courses

To earn your DIF designation, you must successfully complete three required online courses and two electives (total of five courses).

Required Courses

When you complete the first three courses listed above, you will have earned the Disability Income Associate (DIA) designation.

Elective Courses

Then, to earn your DIF, simply complete two electives from your choice of the following AHIP courses:

To enroll in a course, please log in and browse our online catalog. If you are a new user, please create an account to get started.

The DIF designation is co-sponsored by America’s Health Insurance Plans (AHIP) and the International DI Society.

" "